T he Board of Health is the legal authority and has ultimate responsibility for the management of the organization. The Board of Health meetings are held quarterly and are open to the public. Board members are residents of Avery and Mitchell counties. The 15 member board is composed of a physician, dentist, optometrist, veterinarian, registered nurse, pharmacist, professional engineer, one county commissioner from each county, and five members from the general public.

Board of Health Members

Avery County

Woodie Young

Vanessa Wiseman
General Public

Mike Lacey

Vivian Greene, RN
Registered Nurse

Jenna Lindsey

Shayna Cole

Stephanie Greer
General Public

General Public

Mitchell County

Jeff Harding

Dr. Kelly Georgeou

Norma Duncan
General Public

Cole Phillips
General Public

Dr. Diane Walker
Thomas Verla

Jeff Gouge
General Public

Joe Miller
General Public

Scheduled Meetings for 2023:

February 7
May 9
June 13
September 12
November 14

Meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. at:
Mayland Community College Boardroom
200 Mayland Drive
Spruce Pine, NC 28777

General Administration
130 Forest Service Drive
Suite D
Bakersville, NC 28705
Phone: 828 688-5060
Email: district@toeriverhealth.org
Health Director: Diane Creek, MSW

Toe River Health District

Healthy people, healthy environment, thriving communities

Toe River Health District is an equal opportunity provider. Services are available to all who may benefit and who meet regulatory requirements regardless of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual preference, disability, age, socioeconomic level, marital status, source of payment, political affiliation, number of pregnancies, DNR/Advanced Directive status, or diagnostic status.

Copyright © Toe River Health District. All rights reserved.